Posted on

Recovery is a slow and painful process … 9 days later and I still can’t even lift my right arm. I was off work for a week and planning to go back tomorrow, although I am really not ready to spend 6+ hours sitting at a desk right now.

I never realized before now just how much an accident can derail your life … I haven’t even been for a walk since before my accident. So many things I used to take for granted are so difficult or even impossible for me now.

In no particular order, things I cannot do/can barely do anymore since my car accident …

1. Can’t shave my armpits/legs/etc.

2. Difficulty putting on deodorant and dressing myself

3. Can’t put my hair up in a ponytail (or do much of anything with it)

4. Can’t do much in the way of cooking

5. Can’t do laundry, housework, etc.

6. Can’t walk dog

7. Can’t take a bath (afraid I won’t be able to get out)

8. Can’t exercise

9. CAN’T DRIVE!!

10. And, probably worst of all, can’t have sex for a while (we’re guessing 5-6 weeks); although, on the plus side, we will really enjoy it when our period of celibacy ends.

I don’t mean to sound like a whiner, just want to send the message that we should all be grateful for our health, well-being, strength, etc. You will miss it when it’s gone!

And I am so thankful to be alive.

About 30fatsingle

Just a silly girl (er, woman?) trying to improve my life as I enter my 30s. I'm working on my body, my career, and my attitude. I used to let crappy relationships ru(i)n my life, but that was the old me. Now I focus on myself and if I ever meet the man of my dreams that is just icing on the cake.

Leave a Reply

